5 Things Inspiring Me: September 2024

New job, taking breaks, and finding my rhythm again.

Uganda, 7/16/24

Helloooo friends! ๐Ÿ‘‹ Itโ€™s been a minute (7 months actually) since I last popped into your inbox. A lot has happened since then and Iโ€™m excited to give you some updates!

tl;dr - as I approached my one year of my creative sabbatical and being a full-time artist, it dawned on me that this lifestyle wasnโ€™t actually the best fit for me at my current stage in life. I faced a lot of internal struggles and stepped away to figure out my path forward. And Iโ€™m happy to report that I finally found my groove and Iโ€™m feeling like my cheerful, inspired self again. (yay!)

I also shared a recap on places I traveled and new hobbies I picked up during my break on my IG if youโ€™re curious. ๐Ÿ‘€๐Ÿฆ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿฆ

๐Ÿ™Œ CHEERFUL NEWS

  1. I'm back in the corporate world! ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ’ป Itโ€™s been a few months since I joined Airbnb as a design program manager and couldn't be happier with my new role. Iโ€™ll share more details behind my process and decision to go back to a day job in a future post (or maybe video?!) soon.

  2. I'm heading to Adobe MAX next month! ๐ŸŽ‰ It's been a dream of mine to attend this event and I was invited to join their creative summit as part of their ambassador program. I'm excited to reconnect with creative friends and watch Adobe launch their new features!

โœจ 5 THINGS INSPIRING ME

1. ARTIST/CREATOR: Andrew Polo

Andrew is a long-time friend and a former techie, that discovered his love for mens fashion in his 30s and has blown up on IG through his clever videos and fashion tips. Heโ€™s one of the most hardworking people I know and Iโ€™m so inspired by his passion and how heโ€™s absolutely dominating in this space. ๐Ÿ”ฅ

Check out his work here.

2. BOOK/SHOW: Pachinko

This summer I fell in love with reading fantasy and historical fiction, and one of the books I enjoyed most was Pachinko by Min Jin Lee. Itโ€™s a novel about a multigenerational Korean family in the 1900s, and I loved everything about the characters, writing style, storyline, and even the latest tv adaptation by Apple.

Check out the book here.

3. NEWSLETTER: Jules Acree

While on my break I didnโ€™t keep up with many creatives, but one of the few newsletters that I read regularly was by Jules Acree. Sheโ€™s a digital creator and youtuber that creates content focusing on productivity and self care. She recently had her first baby and reading about her journey into pregnancy and motherhood while being a full-time creative was so inspiring.

Check out her newsletter here.

4. PODCAST: JOMO Pod

This is a pod that I wish I discovered sooner when I was struggling alone on my decision to go back to work. The two hosts, Chloe and Eric, are former techies turned full-time creatives, who openly share their career and life struggles, along with great advice. I found a sense of comfort listening to their hilarious and unfiltered convos.

Check out their podcast here.

5. VIDEO: Airbnbโ€™s Campaign

Is it cringe that Iโ€™m spotlighting my new employer in my newsletter? Oh well. ๐Ÿ˜‚ One of the many things thatโ€™s inspiring me is their recent series of stop motion animation campaigns in collaboration with Buck. The details behind the characters and set design is absolutely insane.

Check out the video here.

๐Ÿคญ JUST FOR FUN

Cute little illo by Wawawiwa Comics to ring in the new season. ๐Ÿ‚ (also how is it already fall?!)

Thanks for reading! If you'd like to support my art practice further you can...

  • Forward this email to a friend

  • Purchase art & gifts on my shop

  • Follow me on Instagram

Have a great day and take it easy. โœŒ๏ธ

Cheers,
Chie

What did you think of this email

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Affiliate Disclaimer: Some links are affiliates. This means that if you buy after clicking on one of those, I get a commission at no additional cost for you.

Reply

or to participate.