5 Things Inspiring Me: January 2024

TEDx, creative goal-setting, and new inspiration to kick off 2024!

Oakland, 1/9/24

Happy New Year friend! Iโ€™m so excited to be in your inbox for the first time this year. Hope your 2024 is off to a great start. ๐Ÿ˜Š

๐Ÿ™Œ CHEERFUL NEWS

  1. Year of the Dragon Art Show at Giant Robot Store ๐Ÿฒ My dragon palm tree painting is on display at the Giant Robot Store in Sawtelle from 1/20-2/4. If youโ€™re in Los Angeles, come check it out!

  2. I gave my first TEDx Talk ๐Ÿ˜ณ Never in a million years would I have thought Iโ€™d stand on the big red stage. But it happened. I spoke in front of a live audience of 350 people in Mountain View this month. And my biggest highlight is that I got to show up as my authentic self and share my life story of embracing the nonlinear path. Iโ€™ll share the recording as soon as itโ€™s available but in the meantime hereโ€™s a photo!

  3. Iโ€™m heading to Hokkaido next month to snowboard ๐Ÿ‚ Itโ€™s been a dream of mine to go snowboarding in Japan and itโ€™s finally happening! Iโ€™m also going to embrace my inner Elsa and check out the Snow Festival in Sapporo where they have insane-looking ice sculptures and snow castles. If you have any recs, please send them my way!

โœ๏ธ FROM THE BLOG

  • How To Set Creative Goals for 2024 โœจ Iโ€™m stoked about the goals I set for my creative business and I wrote down my process to share with you! If youโ€™re looking to start a new chapter on your creative journey, whether itโ€™s picking up a new hobby or up-leveling your business, I hope you find this helpful. Plus it includes a FREE printable that you can use to write your goals and decorate your desk.
    โ†’ Read the story

โœจ 5 THINGS INSPIRING ME

1. ARTIST: KOYSUN

Koy Suntichotinun is a Thai American artist based in San Diego that specializes in sign painting and lettering. What I love most about Koy is his storytelling. Heโ€™s gained a massive fanbase through his heartwarming stories of redesigning dog poop signs and starting from humble beginnings

Check out his work here.

2. BLOG: How Snoop Dog Builds His Personal Brand

This post analyzes Snoop Dog as a case study for mastering your own brand and creative voice. From being an influential rapper to expanding into tangential industries like entertainment and cannabis, heโ€™s found a ton of success with diversifying his business with one key ingredient - collaborations.

Check out the blog here.

3. BOOK: The Courage to Be Happy by Ichiro Kishimi & Fumiake Koga

This is a sequel to a book I recommended last year, The Courage to Be Disliked. Itโ€™s a conversation-based story between a philosopher and young boy who questions how to have a meaningful life. They discuss topics around self-love and self-reliance, and ways to design a life in harmony with your loved ones.

Check out the book here.

4. PODCAST: Diversifying Income Streams as a Floral Business

Maurice, co-founder of Bloom & Plume, creates beautiful floral arrangements while sharing fun videos on Instagram. He did a podcast with Shopify to share his journey opening a floral shop with his brother in LA, and ways theyโ€™ve added a coffee shop and physical products to diversify their income streams and creative outlets.

Check out the interview here.

5. SMALL BIZ: Covry

Covry is a female-founded asian-owned eyeglass brand that offers asian fit glasses for people like me! Their frames and lenses are beautifully designed, and their retail shop in Costa Mesa is so elegant. They also host community events including a recent creative panel where they invited me as a guest speaker.

Check out the store here.

๐Ÿคญ JUST FOR FUN

This diagram always gets me.
(Credit: @waitbutwhy)

Thanks for reading! If you'd like to support my art practice further you can...

  • Forward this email to a friend

  • Purchase art & gifts on my shop

  • Follow me on Instagram

Have a great day and take it easy. โœŒ๏ธ

Cheers,
Chie

What did you think of this email

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Affiliate Disclaimer: Some links are affiliates. This means that if you buy after clicking on one of those, I get a commission at no additional cost for you.

Reply

or to participate.