5 Things Inspiring Me: February 2024

Japan travels, shop update, and wholesale!

Hokkaido, 2/14/24

Happy belated lunar new year! February was one of those months where everything just sort of flew by… I suppose back to back traveling can do that to you. πŸ˜… Looking forward to spending these next few weeks more slowly and intentionally as we welcome the spring season.

πŸ™Œ CHEERFUL NEWS

  1. I’m back from Japan! πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ Exploring Hokkaido and snowboarding in the Ja-POW was incredible. You can check out my daily vlogs from my adventures here: DAY 1, DAY 2, DAY 3, DAY 4, DAY 5.

  2. Spring shop update! 🌸 Spring is right around the corner and I added new stationery products to my shop! Check out new ocean-inspired notepads, greeting cards, and bookmarks.

  3. My products are available for wholesale. πŸ› Seeing my products stocked up in local retail shops has always felt like a far-fetched dream but my goal this year is to make it a reality. If you know of any cute gift shops and stationery stores that fit my coastal vibes, please send them my way!

✨ 5 THINGS INSPIRING ME

1. ARTIST: YU NAGABA

Yu is a Japanese illustrator that specializes in human portraits. His signature style consists of black and white line drawings, and he’s done incredible collabs with dream clients like Converse, Uniqlo, Asics. I love his ability to generate so much expression and personality with simple shapes.

Check out his work here.

2. BOOK: The Creative Act

Rick Rubin is a legendary music producer and the wisdom he shares here applies to all creative fields. When I’m in a creative rut, I read a few pages out of this book and it brings me a sense of calm. It’s a helpful tool to develop a healthy mindset while navigating the creative journey.

Check out the book here.

3. EVENTS: Sapporo Snow Festival

One of the things I love most about Japanese culture is how we celebrate all the seasons. The Sapporo Snow Festival was one of the highlights of my trip and it’s an annual festival in Hokkaido where over 180 snow sculptures are built for display for just one week. The one in the photo is of Yubaba from Spirited Away!

Check out the event here.

4. PODCAST: Selling Wholesale w/Lana Effron

Proof to Product is an incredible podcast resource for anyone looking to learn about wholesale. This interview with Lana Effron was inspiring because she’s an artist and designer who built up her own stationery and gift line, and now sells to major retailers like Nordstrom and Anthropologie.

Check out the interview here.

5. VIDEO: David Bowie on Creativity

When I stumbled upon this edited clip of David Bowie it instantly warmed my heart and I searched through the internet to find the longer version. It was originally part of a documentary film by Michael Apted where he explored the creative process through interviews with various artists.

Check out the video here.

🀭 JUST FOR FUN

I felt so seen reading this comic by artist Jocelyn Tsai. Can you relate?

Thanks for reading! If you'd like to support my art practice further you can...

  • Forward this email to a friend

  • Purchase art & gifts on my shop

  • Follow me on Instagram

Have a great day and take it easy. ✌️

Cheers,
Chie

What did you think of this email

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Affiliate Disclaimer: Some links are affiliates. This means that if you buy after clicking on one of those, I get a commission at no additional cost for you.

Reply

or to participate.